First impressions….slightly overdue

28 03 2013

This post was meant to happen like two nights ago but screw it I’ve been having too much fun :-P

The first instance of culture shock didn’t actually happen till later than I thought. Things at the airport were more of less what I expected. Got my JR Pass swapped fairly swiftly by a lovely chap called Okuda-San, we chatted for a while about G-Shocks as we were both wearing them. Then I got my bullet train in to Tokyo from Narita. This is where the culture shock happened. The train toilets more specifically. So clean! Like stupidly clean! And how did I ever live without heated toilet seats!!!! I found the hostel easily enough, picked up the equivalent of an Oyster card that works pretty much everywhere including shops and and transport including taxis.

Settling in on that first day immediately made some friends and we went out to dinner that night to a place called Ninja. It was fun but expensive. Portions were a bit naff, but you got more for the experience then the food I guess as tasty as it was. Back to the hostel and a few drinks with the staff.

Tuesday morning was a bit of a bust, the early morning fish market visit went out the window as I didn’t roll out of bed till 10. Damn sake. But managed to get a start on the rest of the day with a trip to Akibahara which was just wow! So much stuff that I wanted! It’s a wonder I didn’t blow my entire holiday budget that afternoon!!! Met up with Chris and Sabbi who introduced me to the best kebab I’ve ever had. A quick trip to the imperial palace and then back to the hostel for a quick relax and then out to meet Chris and Sabbi with a new friend Felipe from Brazil to an izakaya. A Japanese pub basically. Tons of food and drink. All very cheap! About 12 dishes and something like 8 or 9 drinks came to a total of less than £60. Crazy good value!

Yesterday was the best day so far despite the weather with the trip to the Ghibli museum in Mitaka. I’d go so far as to say that it’s worth coming to Japan for a trip to this museum alone. It’s understandable why the don’t allow pictures. But I truly wish I could share the things I saw there.

Today was definitely the busiest day so far with picking up the slack from things I’ve missed I the past few days. I’ve tried to keep to the schedule I’ve set my self as much as possible and as speedy as the subway system is here, things have been missed. So today saw me going literally north to south but it was a productive day and I’ve managed to do a few things that I had intended to do at the end of my trip so more free time which is all good. Thought I’d treat my self to a massage after all the walking too so went round the corner for a foot massage. 30 mins for like £6!!! Now off to dinner with Felipe as its his last night and then another soak in the Onsen before starting to get ready to move for tomorrow and onwards to Fuji. But obviously you all know this from my constant stream of updates anyway ;-)

Laters

Kal x

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 03 2013
Pete Davison

Sounds fab. I’m curious about the Ninja restaurant — do you know if it’s related to the one in New York? That was super-expensive but they gave you loads of food and did ninja magic at the table. It was pretty sweet.

2 04 2013
Kal

Yeah I’m pretty sure it’s the same chain, they had the same Ninja village set up and everything

Leave a Reply

