“Sic Parvis Magna…”

5 01 2012

I decided to leave it a few days before writing my first post of the new year. Figure I’d let myself settle into 2012 and see how I feel about it so far.

I’ve never been a huge fan of new years eve. Too much organisation to do, too many things going on. As numerous discussions with Pat and Adam in the days leading up to New years eve would reveal, it wasn’t until the night that we ended deciding what we were going to do. Overall, wasn’t the worst new years eve I’ve ever had, but at the same time, not the most exciting. So that’s that.

Having now enjoyed unemployment for almost 2 weeks, I have to say its been a rather lovely period of time off. Seeing lots of friends over the past few days and actually enjoying my work free Xmas has done wonders for my state of mind. I find myself more calm and collected. But more pressing things now take the forefront of my attention, 2pm lie ins are all well and good but useless unless you have the financial clout to be able to get away with it. Much as I would love to say I have that, I don’t.

The year for me started smoothly enough, I finally got the phone call I had been waiting for for weeks confirming me as an extra role in Bond 23, Skyfall I believe it’s called. It’s only an extra role as I said so I probably won’t even be speaking on-screen but its a chance to work on a huge film and network while I’m on set. Also, I’m hoping that Mr Craig himself will be there. A former GSMD graduate, I was hoping to get a few minutes of his time to be able to get advice on how his audition process went. Although I take some small comfort in the fact that his own acceptance into the school took more than a few auditions!

My plan is over the next few weeks to hopefully be able to find a job part-time that pays enough so I can still go off and do these little acting jobs but ultimately this year will be all about getting into drama school. Ideally, GSMD but I am looking at other schools as well just in case. Buckling down on my audition pieces and generally getting my life back on track after the last 18 months.

I had a look at resolutions to keep this year too. I’m not the biggest advocate for them. I’ve never been able to keep them and never seen anyone else keep them really either. But I thought I’d give it another go this year. My first one is to give up smoking. I had my last cigarette on New Years Eve around 2 am and thanks to the handy little NHS quit smoking app I have saved £8.18 since I stopped so hooray for that! I’m gonna make it a real shot to lose some weight this year too. Maybe weight is the wrong word, I’m not fussed about my actual weight. How it’s been distributed around my body is a little more of an annoyance. Taking into memory that I was in the best shape I’d ever been in my second year of uni I look back at that lifestyle.

I didn’t drink beer or cider. So they’ll be gone, I was purely a spirits man. Time to rediscover the alcoholic in me ;-)

I cooked everything from scratch, which I’m doing most days anyway but I should cut out that occasional bag of Doritos and the cookies which I didn’t used to do back then. I’ve become a terrible snack fiend!

Used to go to the gym 3 times a week, not exactly financially feasible anymore but I can cycle and run so more attempts to do that from now on.

Not impossible goals but something that I can ease into. And I have enough pictures from that year of uni to know what I wanna look like so something quite tangible to aim for.

So there you have it, potential for a big year but I’ve purposefully chosen not to focus on what could happen if things maybe don’t work out quite the way I want them too. I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it if I need to.

Besides, I might always get spotted on the set of Bond and be offered something amazing :-P

Sic Parvis Magna indeed! lol

Happy New Year!

Kal x

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

