“As we enter the final stretch…”

30 11 2011

Been a few days since my last post so I thought I’d write a quick one to just update on the last few days.

The last day of Movember, I wish I could say that I was keeping the ‘tasch for the purposes of the month but I really just feel more comfortable with some hair on my face! In fact I think the last time I was voluntarily clean-shaven was almost 2/3 years ago! But credit to all my friends that have managed to carry their’s through the month regardless oh how ridiculous some of you looked. lol.

Coming to the end of this year I look back at what I have achieved over the past 12 months, I’ve given up trying to see if I’m where I thought I’d be 5 years ago. I guess I’ve become more cynical in that sense that life just doesn’t work out the way you want it to unless you’re stupidly lucky. And you have to just roll with whatever it throws at you.

I’m not really disappointed by much that much happened this year but at the same time I’m not really that enthused about anything either. I got back into cycling after almost 10 years so that’s something I guess. I now cycle everywhere if I can. Still a sod cycling to work in heavy wind and rain but part and parcel of the choice to cycle.

I had a few gigs as a magician which was fun, met some very cool people and managed to stay in touch with them which is never a bad thing.

Just small victories really, nothing to write home about so to speak. I guess if there’s one area of my life I feel really should improve it would be my love life.

I sorta look at my history compared to my friends the same age. they’ve already had 2 or 3 serious relationships compared to my own number of zero. I’m not seeing it as a pissing contest but in the quiet night sometimes my mind does go a-wondering as to why I havent been able to settle down with anyone. Maybe that’s the wrong word, not settle. but find someone I thought “yeah, this is it” and have that same feeling reciprocated. No doubt I have had one or two ladies come and go in my life that lasted longer than the passing infatuation but never amounted to what id call a relationship.

Eh, who knows anyway, I do enjoy being single. It gives me a sense of certain freedom of responsibility but then I never have been one to really think about what other people thought of me. Friends of mine will be familiar with my saying “you don’t answer to anyone but yourself” when they’ve come to me with indecision about certain aspect of their lives. To me and the few friends who have really heeded that piece of advice they tell me they have a real feeling of liberty in what they do. It is tough to be able to adopt that kind of mindset and not everyone will be able to do it but those that do, you feel the difference.

Anyway, I need to head off and start looking for a new job. Entering my final month with work and I should really get something lined up to after Xmas.

Toodles for now!

Kal x

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

