#I get by with a little help from my friends…#

23 10 2011

Hello again readers, just a quick update this time as it’s been a few days since my last post.

This weekend in my opinion went all too quickly. Organised from a few weeks ago I was going down to Southampton to hang out with my friend Becky for the day on Saturday and then do my usual run around of seeing as many people as possible on the Sunday before I came back to Bicester.

So on Friday I got into Southampton about half past midnight and Dan very kindly loaned his flat to me for the night. Crashing out as soon as I got in I woke next morning to find Dan rummaging around in his room while I lay mummified in his bed. His flat get exceedingly cold! After the standard 90 mins of attempting to get out of bed but getting back had passed we eventually made our way (me, Dan and Becky) down to Number 10 around half 11. A little Italian place on Bedford Place that I don’t remember being there when I was at uni but they do some rather lovely breakfast options.

After Breakfast it was back to Beckys to chill out for a while and decide on what to see at the cinema that evening. In the meantime Happy Feet was put on the DVD, partly because it’s easy to watch and I’d never seen it before. having now seen it, loved it! Tin Tin was decided as the film of choice for the cinema but alas it wasn’t on. We ended up watching Contagion. Which was very good! So if you get the chance I would recommended seeing it. back to Beckys for dinner, we cooked a lovely sausage and bean stew with mashed potatoes. Dan and Jacqui joined us for dinner too which was nice. We sat down to watch Dreamgirls then, another movie I hadn’t seen and again quite enjoyed it.

This morning saw me at the Trago Lounge in Portswood, now being my second visit to there, I will firmly make it one of my places to stop at every time I’m in Southie. I met up with Elly, a friend who I hadn’t seen in almost 2 and a half years after living with her in Southampton, and we had a good old natter over brunch. Thoroughly recommend the Lounge Eggs if you go. They’re a little heavy-handed with the hollandaise but a rather tasty meal. We ended up chatting for a few hours and it was just lovely to reconnect with someone after not having seen them for that kind of time and almost carry on with without missing a beat.

I took a little wonder into WestQuay after me and Elly parted ways and swung by my old store, busy as always but good to see that some things don’t change. On my way to my last stop for the weekend to see Niamh, I passed by a Timpsons and found a selection of canes that I needed for my Halloween costume. After buying one, I decided to see what it felt like walking with the aid of a cane and it’s amazing how differently people perceive you. I was given a wide berth when walking through large groups. People actually apologised after even slightly bumping into me and seats were given up on the bus for me to. An interesting experience. A quick cup of tea with Niamh, some gluten-free sticky toffee pudding and short chatter and I was back on my way home to Oxford only to find I’ve come home to an empty house! I really couldn’t have asked for a more perfect way to end the weekend.

In essence I guess what I’m trying to say, is thank you. Thank you to everyone for this weekend, and thank you for the times that are yet to come. I am fortunate to have so many friends to be able to do these kind of mad rush around weekends and I look forward to the next one. Which in fact is only a few days away, cannot wait!

:-)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

