The Opening Number….

24 09 2011

So here we are.

Standing on the precipice of something that could be great or a learning experience for a better model to follow in the future.

But allow me to introduce you to what this is first.

In short, this is Free Therapy for me, I’m at a point in my life where I find a lot of things are stressing me out, and having all my friends quite a distance away from where I live, conversations about my stresses that I would normally have with them aren’t possible.  So this will be an occasional alternative to make things clearer in my head by seeing them in black and white.

Other than that, I have been meaning to do something like this for quite a while and in no short measure inspired by my good friend Pete (AKA Angry Jedi) an avid blogger himself, he has been doing a Project that he calls The One A Day Project. You can find more information about what it is and how to participate by clicking on the link. So in honour of his inspiration to me, I have entitled my blog Not Exactly One A Day.

So what to write for the first post…..I guess I’ve always liked to write even if I’ve never had the determined drive to do so. I never particularly excelled at essay writing throughout School, College or University with one or two exceptions where the subject matter was something that resonated with me in a big way. But look in my documents folder and you’ll find any number of Scripts for Film and Theatre, half started novels and the scribble of a short story after a sudden burst of epiphany. As a side point, I have to sing the praises of Tassimo. A coffee machine that my cousin so graciously gifted upon me and I sit here enjoying a Caramel Macchiato as I write this. Delish! :-D

Okay, first post, here it is. But a little background before we get to the meat of it.

I was raised in an Islamic household, with a father who granted, did the right thing by instilling in me good values and respect but at the same time had a wildly narrow view of western culture and how to raise kids through the 80’s and 90’s. So as a result only looking back it now, it’s apparent to me that because of his ‘Rules’ within the house, I missed out on some pretty critical childhood experiences. To mention a few, not really having a birthday between the ages of 5 to 18 (even then my 5th birthday was due to massive pressure from my aunt and uncle who had a daughter whose birthday was around the same time), not really understanding football or having allegiance for any team and finally not experiencing theme parks or fun fairs. The last of which is the subject of my post today.

At 25 years old, I, Kalam Abul, visited my first theme park in the form of Thorpe Park

This is one of the few times of my life where I have had one of those stupid smiles on my face that literally stretch from ear to ear. The actual feeling of being on a roller-coaster is really something that I can’t even begin to express, the adrenaline rush of it all and the huge drop in your gut when you’re staring facedown at the vertical drop. So rather than try to describe what it felt like and butcher the experience in my head, I’m going to use some words by a Magician I greatly admire called Paul Harris. He speaks of Astonishment in relation to the prestige part of a Magic trick but I feel it applies to me in this situation, I’m paraphrasing but you’ll get the idea.

“When you’re young, your mind is clear, the world is grey, no right or wrong. Just what you see in front of you. As time goes on we learn and condition ourselves to things, and we organise this information into boxes and any new information that comes along gets moved into its appropriate box. It’s in your head but what’s happening is that original clear state of mind is slowly being blocked out by these boxes until these information boxes are packed so high and tight that initial clarity of mind you had as a child is covered. Not gone, just covered by these boxes of overstuffed information.

And then something happens, you witness a piece of strange or see an illusion of the impossible which kicks your ‘trained’ mind into action to try to fit this information into one of the rational boxes but no box will hold it. At that moment of trying to box the unboxable your world view breaks up, The boxes are gone and whats left? Simply what’s always been there, your natural state of mind. That’s the moment of astonishment”

For me this perfectly describes how I felt just as the roller-coaster climbed to its apex before the drop. It’s an experience that I’m not sure I might have fully appreciated as a child, the entire day was just a great joy helped in part by my friends Ruth and Patrick.

As a result of this, I cannot wait to try out some of the other Theme Parks this country has to offer. namely Alton Towers. So anyone who would like to see a grown man fully revert back into a childhood state feel free to come long :-)

Well I think that about wraps it up for my first one, hopefully you enjoyed reading as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Until next time.

Kal

Actions

Information

7 responses

24 09 2011
Pete Davison

Alton Towers is awesome, though I haven’t been since I was about 15. If you decide to take a trip, let me know. :)

24 09 2011
#oneaday Day 614: Joining the Fold | I'm Not Doctor Who

[…] that I welcome a very good friend of mine to the blogging fold. A big hand, if you please, for Mr Kalam Abul. Kalam’s a good buddy from my days working for a certain fruit-based computer […]

24 09 2011
Pete Davison: Joining the Fold « The One A Day Project

[…] that I welcome a very good friend of mine to the blogging fold. A big hand, if you please, for Mr Kalam Abul. Kalam’s a good buddy from my days working for a certain fruit-based computer […]

24 09 2011
DahlFace

If you’re going Drayton Manor/Alton Tower, I’m tagging along!
…and hopefully the lack of birthday parties didn’t mean that when you started celebrating them again you had the same god awful caterpillar cake every time.

x

25 09 2011
Kal

I thought it was a Thomas The Tank Engine cake at the 5th Birthday party? x

28 09 2011
Mike

Hey dude! A good read – nice chatting to you yesterday!

1 10 2011
The Importance of Being an Asshole by Kalam Abul « Not Exactly One A Day…

[…] back story, let’s go back to my father. I think I’ve established in my previous post (The Opening Number) that he wasn’t exactly the greatest father. One of his biggest downfall in my eyes was his […]

Leave a Reply

